Wednesday 27th April, 2005


Speed, fireworks as Beacon cycling starts tonight

Sports Arena
Business Guardian
Online Community
Death Notices
Classified Ads
Jobs in T&T
Contact Us
Privacy Policy


Members of the West Indies cycling team go through a final training session at Macqueripe, Chaguaramas yesterday. The session was in preparation for tonight’s 14-lap ride around the Queen’s Park Savannah in the fifth annual Beacon Insurance West Indies vs The World Cycling Series. In photo from right are JOSHUA ALEXANDER, ADAMA ALEXANDER, ELISHA GREENE and DAVID ALVES.

Photo: Anthony Harris


Experienced road cyclist Emile Abraham heads a list of seven local riders representing the region in the Beacon West Indies vs The World Cycling Series, which is scheduled to start tonight around the Queen’s Park Savannah.

Fireworks and a motor-cycling display by the Full Throttle Harley Davidson club, will herald the opening which will start at Queen’s Park West, in front of TGIF at 8 pm.

The Tobago-based Abraham flew in from Atlanta, Georgia (USA), where he competed over the weekend, to join his teammates, as they were unveiled to the media at a cocktail reception held in the VIP room of Hasely Crawford Stadium on Monday night.

Stephen Mangroo, Elisha Greene, David Alves, brothers Joshua and Adam Alexander and Ronald Dickie are the other T&T riders making up the 13-man West Indies squad.

They will be joined by Barry Forde of Barbados, Jamaica’s Neil Samuel, Guyana’s Junior Niles and the Cuban trio of Junior Alvarez, Yosmany Poll and Florencio Perez.

Forde is the most established member of the West Indies outfit. He is just coming off a silver medal-winning ride in the Kerin event at the World Championships in Los Angeles, California last month.

Roberto Chiappa of Italy, England’s Craig Mc Clean and German pair Jan Van Eigdan and Matthias John are a few of the big names in the 17-man “World” team.

Chiappa, the most decorated of the foreign riders, is the winner of 20 Cycling World Cup medals.

He first competed at the Beacon series in 2004.

Mc Clean was a gold medallist in the Olympic Sprint event at the Sydney Olympics in 2000.

Van Eigdan is a former Match Sprint world champion (2000), while his countryman John won bronze in the Olympic Sprint at last month’s World Championships in Los Angeles, California.

For the first time in the event’s five-year history, it will be taped for broadcast in Europe by British Sports Television Giants—Sky Sports Network, while Los Angeles-based company, pro, will carry the series and all its related events via the internet.

WEST INDIES TEAM: Emile Abraham, Ronald Dickie, David Alves, Joshua Alexander, Adam Alexander, Elisha Greene, Stephen Mangroo (T&T), Neil Samuel (Jamaica), Junior Niles (Guyana), Junior Alvarez, Yosmany Poll, Florencio Perez (Cuba), Barry Forde (Barbados).

WORLD TEAM: Roberto Chiappa (Italy), Jan Van Eigdan, Matthias John (Germany), Mike Friedman, Ben Barcezwski (USA), Peter Jacques, Jonathon Norfolk (England), James Mc Callum, Craig Mc Clean (Scotland), Sebastien Donadio, Jorge Ruschansky (Argentina), Jose Aguilar, Antonio Medina, Daniel Garcia, Danny Yepez (Venezuela), Glen Rendall, Murry Carter (Canada).

Race Days

Today: QP Savannah, 8 pm

Friday: Skinner Park, 7 pm

Saturday: Arima Velodrome, 5 pm

Sunday: Arima Velodrome, 5 pm

May 4: Tobago, 2 pm

May 6: Skinner Park, 7 pm

May 7: Arima Velodrome, 5 pm

May 8: Arima Velodrome, 5 pm

(See Sports Arena)

©2004-2005 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited

Designed by: Randall Rajkumar-Maharaj · Updated daily by: Sheahan Farrell