Wednesday 22th August, 2007


T&T juniors win big in Barbados

Sports Arena
Business Guardian
Online Community
Death Notices
Classified Ads
Jobs in T&T
Contact Us
Privacy Policy


T&T trophy winners at the Sagicor Open Junior Chess Championship. From left: Renuka Ramdass, Christopher Rapheal, keron Cabralis, Javanna Smith, Justin Salloum, Jarryon Paul, Keanu Seecharan, Rafael Guerrero, Jonathon Paul, Jonathon Chung, Chantal Fitspatrick, Melissa Periera.

TRINIDAD and Tobago’s young chess players took the lion’s share of prizes at last week’s 2007 Sagicor Open Junior Chess Championship held in St Michael, Barbados. Among the 84 players from Barbados, Jamaica and T&T, 11-year-old Keron Cabralis secured third place while in the four age categories, T&T’s youngsters won eight of the 12 prizes. They also took away four of the five special prizes.

The tournament, which was reduced from eight to seven rounds because of the threat of Hurricane Dean, was won by Jamaican national junior champion Brandon Wilson, fresh from his Under-20 victory at the recent CMMB Caribbean Championships in Trinidad. He scored 6.5 points, half a point ahead of six players whose places were decided by the tie break.

From second to 7th were Martyn Del Castilho of Barbados, Keron Cabralis of T&T, Shamel Howell of Barbados and Marcus Joseph, Justin Salloum and Christopher Raphael of T&T.

Trinidad and Tobago entered 24 players in the popular annual tournament. Jamaica fielded 9 contestants while Barbados had 51.

In the age categories, the Under 10 prizes were all won by Trinis, Javanna Smith, first, Jonathan Chong, second, and Jonathan Paul third. In the Under 12 category, T&T’s Melissa Pereira finished with the best score, while Chad Barrow of Barbados placed second and Jarryon Paul of T&T third.

The Under 14s were led by Philip Pryce of Jamaica with Alex Jackman of Barbados and T&T’s Rafael Guerrero placing second and third. T&T’s Justin Salloum and Christopher Raphael finished first and second among the Under 16s with Justin Blackman of Barbados third.

Special prizes went to Keanu Seecharan for being the youngest player; Javanna Smith, the most outstanding Under 12 female; Renuka Ramdass, the most outstanding Under 14 female; Melissa Sookram of Barbados, the most outstanding Under 16 female and Chantal Fitzpatrick, the most outstanding Under 20 female.


©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited

Designed by: Randall Rajkumar-Maharaj · Updated daily by: Sheahan Farrell