Tuesday 16th December, 2008


Technocrats stun Glamorgan for vball title

Sports Arena
Business Guardian
Death Notices
Classified Ads
Jobs in T&T
Contact Us
Privacy Policy



Technocrats came from a set down to defeat pre-match favourites, Glamorgan to capture the T&T Volleyball Federation Men’s “A” Division on Sunday.

The match was played at the Southern Regional Indoor Sports Arena, Pleasantville after it was originally carded for Saturday.

But due to the replaying of the men’s quarterfinal between last year’s winner BIG South East Port-of-Spain and Toco Youths Volleyball Academy, it was put off.

The 24-hour delay did not seem to bother the Technocrats squad which included the senior national quartet of Sean Morrison, Kelvin “Buju” Alleyne, Marc Daly and Vaughn Martin as they prevailed 23-25, 25-18, 25-21, 17-25, 15-5.

On Saturday, Technocrats booked its place in the final after Southern United defaulted trailing 25-18, 25-7 in its semifinal due to injury to one of its players while Glamorgan ousted last year’s winner, SEPoS in the semifinal, 25-20, 25-21, 20-25, 25-23.

It was the second match of the day for SEPoS, who had to replay its quarterfinal clash with Toco Youth Volleyball Academy which it won 25-18, 25-21, 25-21.

Glamorgan women had much better fortunes on Saturday as they dethroned the University of T&T (UTT) as Women’s “A” Division winners. Led by Kelly-Ann Billingy, Glamorgan exacted revenge for last year’s finals defeat with a 25-18, 22-25, 25-20, 25-18 triumph.

In the semifinals, Glamorgan beat Southern United Volleyball Academy 25-8, 25-9, 25-9. UTT had a 25-15, 25-10, 25-13 win over BIG South East Port-of-Spain.

SUVA was awarded third spot after SEPoS defaulted the third place match.

Final A Division standings:

Women: 1. Glamorgan; 2. UTT; 3. Southern United Volleyball Academy; 4. BIG South East Port-of-Spain.

Men: 1. Technocrats; 2. Glamorgan; 3. BIG South East Port-of-Spain; 4. Southern United.




©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited