You are here

Wilson, Joseph go after second straight titles

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Defending champions, Aaron Wilson of Carenage Blasters and Brittany Joseph of WASA will be fancied to keep hold of their respective men's and women's Open Singles titles when the Solo Senior National Table Tennis Championships conclude tonight. The action takes place at the National Racquet Centre, Orange Grove Road, Tacarigua from 7 pm.

On Sunday last, Joseph, also the reigning Under-21 champion set up a semifinal showdown with Carenage Blasters’ Shreya Maharaj while her club-mate Chelsea Fong faces PowerGen’s Catherine Spicer in the other for a place in the title match.

This after Joseph ousted 12-time national singles champion Aleena Edwards 11-4, 11-6, 12-10 at the quarterfinal hurdle, in a rematch of last year’s final, and Fong beat Derah Ramoutar of Warrenville 11-8, 11-2, 11-2.

In the other quarterfinals, Maharaj overwhelmed Linda Partap-Boodhan of Arima Hawks’ 11-7, 11-9, 11-5 and Spicer silenced WASA’s Ambika Sitram, 11-6, 11-5, 11-5.

Last year, 18-year-old Wilson’s rallied from a 0-3 deficit in the best-of-seven sets final to topple WASA’s Curtis Humphreys’ 4-3 for his first national senior crown.

And when competition resumes tonight, Wilson will face a strong challenge right away in veteran champion, Canadian-based David Mahabir for a spot in the semifinal with the winner to face the winner of the clash between five-time national champion, Arima Hawks’ Reeza Burke and former champion, WASA’s Curtis Humphreys.

In the other half of the draw, Hawks’ Arun Roopnarine faces Crusader’s Dayanand Maharaj with the winner to meet WASA’s former top-ranked local Yuvraak Dookram who was handed a bye due to Derron Douglas absence,

Douglas is currently in Dominican Republic representing T&T at the Junior Pan American Table Tennis Championship along with Luc O’Young and Javier King.

When the tournament served off last week WASA repeated as Men A-1 and Women Team champions.

However, a new champion was crowned in Division Two with PowerGen blasting Survivors 3-0 to take the left vacant by the University of T&T trio of 11-time national women’s singles champion, Aleena Edwards, Kamal Hunte and Daniel Clarke.

For PowerGen, Catherine Spicer overcame Michael Mc Comie 11-4, 5-11, 12-10, 11-9; captain Wesley Dookoo rallied past ex-national football goalkeeper and youth team coach Michael Mc Comie, 9-11, 11-8, 14-12, 10-12, 11-7 and Rod Singh outplayed Neville Cabie 11-4, 11-7, 7-11, 11-9.

Last weekend in the final-four, PowerGen shocked Arima Hawks 3-1 and Survivors trounced WASA 3-0.

And in Division Three, Petrotrin I shot-out Petrotrin II 3-0 for the top prize vacated by Warrenville which featured Newaj, Sayyid Baksh and Haleem Baksh in its line-up last year.

Firstly, Darion Phillip humbled Ionaire Joseph, 11-6, 11-4, 12-10; David Gopaul got the better of Brian Demming 11-9, 8-11, 11-3, 11-4 and Zaeem Imkaraj stopped Peter Bhim, 11-8, 11-3, 11-8.

In their semifinals, Petrotrin I defeated Arima Table Tennis Club 3-1, and Petrotrin II eked out a 3-2 triumph over WASA I.


User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment writer and are not representative of Guardian Media Limited or its staff.

Guardian Media Limited accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.

Guardian Media Limited reserves the right to remove, to edit or to censor any comments.

Any content which is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will be removed.

Before posting, please refer to the Community Standards, Terms and conditions and Privacy Policy

User profiles registered through fake social media accounts may be deleted without notice.